## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

March 1, 2023

The Honorable Heidi Shyu Under Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering U.S. Department of Defense 3030 Defense Pentagon Washington, DC 20301-3030

## RE: Silicon Crossroads Microelectronics Commons Hub

Dear Under Secretary Shyu,

We are writing to express our support for the Silicon Crossroads Microelectronics Commons Hub, as well as its coordinating body The Applied Research Institute (ARI), to serve as one of the nine Microelectronics Commons hubs.

The Midwest region continues to excel in innovation, entrepreneurship, and advanced manufacturing and, as elected officials representing Illinois, Indiana, and Michigan, we know our states are well-positioned to lead in the design and manufacturing of microelectronics as part of the new Microelectronics Commons network.

The Silicon Crossroads Microelectronics Commons Hub would be governed by representatives of the participating state and local governments, academia, small business, federal labs, and other partners. As a convener for the hub, ARI would serve as a neutral third-party and draw on its extensive experience working with multiple U.S. Department of Defense partners to drive innovation and collaboration across prototyping activities. The placement of the Silicon Crossroads Microelectronics Commons Hub in the heartland of America would lead to economic growth and workforce opportunities in our communities and across the region while bolstering our national security through the broader ME Commons effort.

We ask that you give the Silicon Crossroads Microelectronics Commons Hub full and fair consideration within applicable laws and regulations.

Sincerely,

Senator Todd Young (Ind.) Senator Richard J. Durbin (III.) Senator Debbie Stabenow (Mich.) Representative Frank J. Mrvan (Ind.-01) Representative Jim Banks (Ind.-03) Representative Victoria Spartz (Ind.-05) Representative André Carson (Ind.-07) Representative Erin Houchin (Ind.-09) Representative Robin L. Kelly (III.-02) Representative Sean Casten (III.-06) Representative Bradley S. Schneider (III.-10) Representative Hillary Scholten (Mich.-03) Representative Elissa Slotkin (Mich.-07) Senator Mike Braun (Ind.) Senator Tammy Duckworth (III.) Senator Gary Peters (Mich.) Representative Rudy Yakym III (Ind.-02) Representative Jim Baird (Ind.-04) Representative Greg Pence (Ind.-06) Representative Larry Bucshon, M.D. (Ind.-08) Representative Jonathan L. Jackson (III.-01) Representative Jonathan L. Jackson (III.-01) Representative Danny K. Davis (III.-05) Representative Danny K. Davis (III.-07) Representative Jan Schakowsky (III.-09) Representative Bill Foster (III.-11) Representative Eric Sorensen (III.-17) Representative Debbie Dingell (Mich.-06) Representative Daniel T. Kildee (Mich.-08)