May 18, 2021

Young Introduces Resolution Designating May 18th as the First-Ever CASA/GAL Volunteers’ Day

WASHINGTON – Today,U.S. Senators Todd Young (R-Ind.) and Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio) introduced a bipartisan resolution designating May 18thas the first-ever Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA)/Guardian ad Litem (GAL) Volunteers’Day. 


CASA/GALvolunteers are appointed by judges and work with courts to ensure positive outcomes for children in child abuse and neglect cases. Across the U.S., over 96,000 volunteers work with nearly 277,000 children and their familiesthrough this program. 


“Indiana is home to one of the largest Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) and guardian ad litem (GAL) volunteer programs in the nation, advocating for Hoosier children facing abuse or neglect in 86 counties. They spend time with each child to get to know the heart of their case, and genuinely care for these young people so that they have the opportunity to thrive. This year, I’m proud to co-lead a Senate resolution commemorating CASA/GAL volunteers’ work on behalf of youth by marking May 18, 2021, as the first-ever CASA/GAL Volunteers’ Day. On May 18th, and every day, we must recognize and celebrate each and every volunteer who advocates for children in our foster care system,” said Senator Young.


“Every young person deserves a safe and stable place to call home— and so many more have that home now, thanks to the work of Ohio’s CASA and GAL volunteers. Even in the midst of a pandemic, volunteers in Ohio served almost 10,000 children last year and continue to play a vital role by helping protect and support foster youth every single day. We must honor them, and continue working to ensure they have the resources to uplift the voices and needs of children in their communities,” said Senator Brown.


Senator Young recently released a video thanking CASA/GAL volunteers for their work to help youth in foster care have a permanent home and the opportunity to achieve better life outcomes. To watch the video, click here.  


The resolution was cosponsored by Senators Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Shelly Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), and James Lankford (R-Okla.)


The full text of the resolution is available here