April 27, 2018

Senate Passes Young-Donnelly Resolutions Honoring the University of Notre Dame and Indiana University Women’s Basketball Teams

Washington, D.C. – Yesterday the Senate passed bipartisan resolutions led by U.S. Senators Todd Young (R-Ind.) and Joe Donnelly (D-Ind.) congratulating the University of Notre Dame women’s basketball team for its 2018 NCAA Division 1 title and the Indiana University women’s basketball team for its 2018 Women’s National Invitation Tournament (WNIT) championship.

This marks the second national women’s basketball title for the Fighting Irish. They previously won the title in 2001, also under head coach Muffet McGraw. This is the first national postseason championship for the Indiana women’s basketball team, who were led by head coach Teri Moren.

Young said, “Basketball is such a big part of Indiana’s heritage. This year’s Indiana University Women’s Basketball NIT Championship and the University of Notre Dame Women’s Basketball Championship are remarkable achievements that speak to the dedication and deep-rooted traditions of our state. I’m happy to join Senator Donnelly in supporting these two resolutions to congratulate these outstanding teams for their hard work.”

Donnelly said, “Congratulations to the Notre Dame and Indiana University women’s basketball players and coaching staffs on these championships. I am proud to recognize the hard work and determination of both teams, which have set a shining example for student athletes across our state and country.” 

University of Notre Dame President Rev. John I. Jenkins, C.S.C. said, “We are grateful to Senators Donnelly and Young for recognizing our team and the tremendous fortitude and perseverance it displayed this season. By playing together and never surrendering, they displayed the spirit of collegiate sports at its finest, and the spirit of Notre Dame.”

Indiana University President Michael McRobbie said, “All of us at Indiana University continue to bask in the glow of the Hoosiers winning their first WNIT championship and delivering one of the most memorable seasons ever in the history of IU women’s basketball. In their successful quest to hang another banner in Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall, they demonstrated the dedication, fight, pride and resilience that are the hallmarks of Indiana basketball. And they were backed by the very best fans in the nation, who electrified Assembly Hall with their IU spirit and record-setting show of support. We are extremely grateful to Senators Donnelly and Young for honoring our Hoosiers — and their loyal fans — with this resolution and acknowledging the team’s excellent performance both on the court and in the classroom. Indeed, this team gave us much to be proud of, and with this title-winning season, its members will always have a special place in the storied tradition of IU athletics.”