November 29, 2022

Senator Young Announces Nominees for United States Service Academies

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Today, U.S. Senator Todd Young (R-Ind.) announced his nominations for U.S. service academy appointments. Applications were received from 150  students, and a select group was interviewed by an advisory board chosen by Senator Young. Out of 70 offered interviews, 47 exemplary young men and women from across Indiana received a nomination from Senator Young.


A nomination does not guarantee admission to a service academy but is required in order to be considered. Nominees are chosen based on personal merit. Criteria considered include evidence of character, leadership, academic excellence, physical aptitude, and extracurricular activities.


“I had the privilege of recommending a talented group of Hoosiers for admission to the United States service academies this year,” said Senator Young. “These young men and women are highly qualified to serve our country, and I’m very proud of their hard work. I wish them the best of luck in their application process.”


Senator Young’s service academy nominees are listed below:


United States Air Force Academy


Ansley Bishop

Roncalli High School


Andrew Davidson

Greenfield Central High School


Kaleb Johnson

Hamilton Southeastern High School

*Also nominated to the United States Military Academy


Peter Kearns

Crawfordsville Sr. High School


Kirsten Lee

Carroll High School


Peter Letherman

Saint Joseph High School


Clare Long

Lafayette Jefferson High School

*Also nominated to the United States Naval Academy


Kori Leverenz

Signature School


Lauren Ozete

Evansville North High School


Owen Rifkin

International School of Indiana


Nathaniel Sajdak

Purdue University


Jared Smith

Bethel University/Georgia Military College


Ty Smith

Evansville North High School

*Also nominated to the United States Naval Academy


Peter Snyder

Cathedral High School


Emma Waskom

Lebanon High School


United States Military Academy


Caroline Bell

Bishop Chatard High School


Arthur Beriault

Scecina Memorial High School


Megan Cobb

St. Theodore Guerin High School


Ella Dieterlen

Batesville High School


Michael Flynn

Valparaiso High School


Brennan Howell

Heritage Christian High School


John Maiers

Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School

*Also nominated to the United States Naval Academy


Nathan Pratt

Penn High School


Peyton Williams

Culver Academies


United States Merchant Marine Academy


Wade Foster

Westville High School


Shelbi Hess

Adams Central High School


Nicklaus Rader

Seton Catholic High School


John Sandford

Floyd Central High School


Kevin Sweeney

Carmel High School


Ian Urchell

Andrean High School


United States Naval Academy


Lucas Bassi

Park Tudor High School


John Dely

Homestead Senior High School


Chelsie Glover

United States Naval Academy Preparatory School


Aaron Gu

Lafayette Harrison High School


Ryley Keegan

Tianjin International School


Christopher Langley

Mooresville High School


Joseph Mariani

Cathedral High School


Lauren Martin

Northwestern Senior High School


Faith Martinez

Culver Academies


Luke Mawbey

Western High School


Hunter Miller

Culver Academies


Joseph Moran

Bishop Dwenger High School


Coco Nate

North Central High School


Owen O’Rourke

Hamilton Southeastern High School


Natalie Restivo

Plainfield High School


Van Smith

Park Tudor High School


Ella Wiegand

Lutheran High School