June 13, 2024

Young, Braun Challenge President Biden’s Overtime Rule

WASHINGTON – Today, U.S. Senators Todd Young (R-Ind.) and Mike Braun (R-Ind.), along with a group of Republican senators, are challenging President Biden’s new Overtime Rule published by the Department of Labor, which will increase the minimum salary threshold for overtime pay from the current amount of $35,568 to $58,656 in January 2025, with additional increases every three years thereafter.

Under the Biden Administration, small businesses have been crushed by record-high inflation. This new rule will continue to force small business owners to make hard choices like raising prices and laying off their hard-working employees.

“After years of rising prices, small businesses need real relief, not more bureaucratic regulation and mandates. I strongly oppose this rule from the Biden Administration and will continue to support our Hoosier small businesses,” Senator Todd Young.

“When the free market sets the price of labor, opportunity and prosperity are the result. When the federal government sets the price of labor by one-size-fits-all mandates, small businesses are forced to fire employees and close shop to make ends meet. We’re leading a challenge to this new Biden rule because this White House’s out-of-touch economic policies have been an unparalleled disaster for American wages,” said Senator Braun.

The senators are challenging the rule through a Congressional Review Act joint resolution of disapproval.

In addition to Senators Young and Braun, Senators Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), John Thune (R-S.D.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Katie Britt (R-Ala.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W. Va.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), John Kennedy (R-La.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Markwayne Mullin (R-Okla.), Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), and Roger Wicker also joined the joint resolution.

This joint resolution is endorsed by Heritage Action, the International Franchise Association, and the National Restaurant Association.