February 14, 2024

Young, Colleagues Applaud Passage of Bipartisan Resolution Recognizing February as Career and Technical Education Month

WASHINGTON, D.C. — U.S. Senators Todd Young (R-Ind.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), and Ted Budd (R-N.C.) applauded unanimous Senate passage of their bipartisan resolution recognizing February 2024 as Career and Technical Education (CTE) Month. The senators are co-chairs of the Senate CTE Caucus.

“Supporting workforce training is vital to preparing for the jobs of tomorrow. Career and technical education equips individuals with hands-on experiences, addresses the skills gap, and provides a pathway to a meaningful career. Hoosiers deserve opportunities to succeed and live the American Dream,” said Senator Young.

“I’m glad the Senate unanimously passed my bipartisan resolution to recognize February as Career and Technical Education. As the son of an ironworker and during my time working at a technical school in Honduras, I’ve witnessed firsthand how CTE can provide a pathway to good-paying, meaningful jobs. This month and every month, let’s work to expand access to CTE, including by passing my JOBS Act to allow students to use Pell Grants for job training programs, and build an economy that works for everyone,” said Senator Kaine.

“We know that a four-year degree is not for everyone and there are many other ways to a good middle-class life. I’m proud to support career and technical education because it gives people the hands-on experiences and skills they need to land a good-paying job and meet our economy’s demands. I look forward to continuing to work with my Democratic and Republican colleagues to support CTE programs and set Wisconsinites up for success,” said Senator Baldwin.

“I’d like to thank my colleagues for unanimously passing our bipartisan resolution recognizing February as Career and Technical Education Month. I will continue to advocate for more educational options for students, with a special focus on CTE programs, because they offer a high-salary, low-debt pathway to success,” said Senator Budd.

The resolution was also cosponsored by Senators John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Katie Britt (R-Ala.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W. Va.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), John Fetterman (D-Pa.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), John Hickenlooper (D-Colo.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Angus King (I-Maine), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Ben Ray Luján (D-N.M.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Joe Manchin (D-W. Va.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), John Thune (R-S.D.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), and Ron Wyden (D-Ore.).