December 22, 2023

Young, Colleagues Applaud Senate Passage of Legislation Honoring Medal of Honor Recipients

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Todd Young (R-Ind.) applauded Senate passage of legislation he helped introduce that would designate U.S. Highway 20 – including the 156 miles in Indiana – as the “National Medal of Honor Highway.” 

“Our Medal of Honor recipients are some of our nation’s bravest heroes,” said Senator Young. “I am proud to support the designation of U.S. Highway 20 as the ‘National Medal of Honor Highway’ and permanently recognize and celebrate each recipient’s selfless devotion and sacrifice to our country. I look forward to this legislation passing the House of Representatives, and eventually becoming law.”

The Medal of Honor is the nation’s highest military award for valor, presented by the president in Congress’ name. U.S. service members who distinguish themselves “through conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of life above and beyond the call of duty” can receive the medal. 

Redesignating U.S. Highway 20— the longest continuous highway in the United States— as the “National Medal of Honor Highway” would honor each state’s current and future Medal of Honor recipients and recipients from any state who travel on it. 

Legislatures and governors in all 12 states along U.S. Highway 20 have designated their state Medal of Honor Highways covering 100 percent of the 3,365-mile Medal of Honor Highway across America. The 12 states along U.S. Highway 20 accounts for about 62 percent of all 3,516 Medal of Honor awards presented since the Civil War. Designating U.S. Highway 20 as the “National Medal of Honor Highway” would ensure all 3,516 recipients and any future recipients from all 50 states and territories are honored. Following Indiana’s designation, INDOT placed eight commemorative signs along the route through Steuben, LaGrange, Elkhart, St. Joseph, LaPorte, Porter, and Lake counties.

In addition to Senator Young, Senators Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), James Risch (R-Idaho), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), John Fetterman (D-Pa.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), J.D. Vance (R-Ohio), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), and Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.) also cosponsored the Senate version of the bill. 

The legislation is supported by the Bend Heroes Foundation, Military Officers Association of America, The American Legion, Legion of Valor, Military Order of the Purple Heart, Vietnam Veterans of America, Medal of Honor Historical Society of the United States, Veterans of Foreign Wars, and the Congressional Medal of Honor Society.

Full legislative text can be found here.