September 29, 2023

Young, Colleagues Introduce Resolution Calling for Evan Gershkovich’s Release

WASHINGTON U.S. Senator Todd Young (R-Ind.) today joined with a bipartisan group of Senate colleagues to introduce a resolution calling for the immediate release of Wall Street Journal reporter Evan Gershkovich from Russia.

“The Russian Government has wrongfully detained American journalist Evan Gershkovich for six months,” said Senator Young. “I’m proud to support this bipartisan resolution calling for Evan’s immediate release. Americans are not political pawns, and we must ensure Evan, Paul Whelan, and all other United States citizens return safely home.”

In addition to Senators Young, cosponsors include Senators Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), John Hickenlooper (D-Colo.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Mark Warner (D-Va.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), and James Lankford (R-Okla.).  

Text of the resolution can be found here.