January 26, 2021

Young Helps Introduce Bipartisan Bill to Award Officer Eugene Goodman with Congressional Gold Medal

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Todd Young (R-Ind.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), and 33 Senate colleagues introduced legislation to award Officer Eugene Goodman the Congressional Gold Medal to honor his heroic actions on January 6, 2021. Goodman confronted rioters in the Capitol, delaying their access to the Senate chamber and protecting the lives of those inside.


“January 6th was a day that will not be forgotten. U.S. Capitol Police officers, including Officer Goodman, stepped up to protect the Capitol building and the lives within it. Officer Goodman acted quickly to divert the mob away from the Senate Chamber where Senators were still conducting business. His bravery on that day deserves recognition, and this Congressional Gold Medal will ensure his heroic actions are honored,” said Senator Young.


“Officer Goodman is a hero. He protected our democracy by holding off and then diverting a violent mob away from the Senate chamber. His actions on January 6th saved lives – including those of many of our Senate colleagues and staff. Maryland is proud to call him one of our own, and I’m honored to introduce this bipartisan bill to recognize his bravery,” said Senator Van Hollen.


This legislation has also been cosponsored by Senators Chris Coons (D-Del.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), and Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.V.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), James Risch (R-Idaho), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisc.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), and Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.), .), Ben Ray Luján (D-N.M.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), and Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.).


Companion legislation was introduced in the House by Representatives Charlie Crist (D-Fla.), Emanuel Cleaver (D-Mo.), and Nancy Mace (R-S.C.).


The text of the bill can be found here.

2020.01.20; 5

Senator Young thanking Capitol Police Officer Eugene Goodman at the Inauguration on January 20, 2021.