September 11, 2020

Young Remembers Americans Lost on 19th Anniversary of September 11 Attacks

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Todd Young (R-Ind.) today released the following statement on the 19th anniversary of the September 11th terrorist attacks:


“Not a year goes by where we don’t remember the national heartache experienced on September 11, 2001, when we lost the lives of so many brave Americans, including several Hoosiers. We must never forget those heroes,” said Senator Young. “We have a duty to keep their memory alive, and to honor them through unity and service, while remaining vigilant so a tragedy like this never happens again.”


Senator Young will be cosponsoring a resolution honoring the heroic actions of first responders and other citizens in New York, Washington, D.C., and Pennsylvania. The resolution calls for acts of service and reflection, and urges all Americans to continue to live their lives throughout the year with the same spirit of unity, service, and compassion exhibited throughout the country following the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001. This year’s resolution also recognizes the many Americans who have rallied together to respond to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. 


“People of the United States witnessed and endured the tragedy of September 11, 2001, and, in the immediate aftermath of the attacks, became unified under a remarkable spirit of service and compassion that inspired the people of the United States. In the years immediately following the attacks, there was a marked increase in volunteerism and national service among the people of the United States, which continues to this day,” the resolution states.


Last year, Senator Young cosponsored the Never Forget the Heroes: Permanent Authorization of the September 11th Victim Compensation Fund Act. The legislation permanently reauthorized the September 11th Victim Compensation Fund (VCF), which supports 9/11 survivors and first responders who have experienced health issues following the September 11th terrorist attacks. The bill became law in July 2019.