November 7, 2017

Senator Young Hosts Barr-Reeve Elementary Educators in Washington

WASHINGTON, D.C. ­– U.S. Senator Todd Young (R-Ind.) held a reception Tuesday in honor of the seven Indiana schools that received the National Blue Ribbon Schools award from the U.S. Department of Education. Barr-Reeve Elementary in Montgomery, Ind., was among the award recipients.

“Indiana is blessed with truly remarkable educators and some of the best schools in the country,” Senator Young said. “The Blue Ribbon schools we recognized today are the best of the best, and I’m proud of their hard work.”

Superintendent Travis Madison, Principal Dena Lengacher and Assistant Principal Tenley Lester from Barr-Reeve were in attendance at the reception. Two photos from the event are attached.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognized 342 schools nationwide in this, its 35thyear. Indiana’s seven recipients were “Exemplary High Performing” schools that received the highest scores on nationally normed tests.



The following Indiana schools achieved Blue Ribbon status:

Barr-Reeve Elementary School

Montgomery, Ind.

James Whitcomb Riley Elementary School

New Castle, Ind.

Maple Elementary School

Avon, Ind.

White Lick Elementary School

Brownsburg, Ind.

Pleasant View Elementary School

Zionsville, Ind.

College Wood Elementary School

Carmel, Ind.

Eden Elementary School

Greenfield, Ind.