November 7, 2017

Senator Young Hosts Hendricks County Educators in Washington

WASHINGTON, D.C. ­– U.S. Senator Todd Young (R-Ind.) held a reception Tuesday in honor of the seven Indiana schools that received the National Blue Ribbon Schools award from the U.S. Department of Education. Maple Elementary School in Avon and White Lick Elementary school in Brownsburg were among the award recipients. 

“Indiana is blessed with truly remarkable educators and some of the best schools in the country,” Senator Young said. “The Blue Ribbon schools we recognized today are the best of the best, and I’m proud of their hard work.”

Maple Elementary was represented at the reception by Avon Community Schools Superintendent Dr. Margaret Hoernemann, Principal Nicola Jo Harrison, and Teacher Holly Clouse. White Lick was represented by teachers Lori Tietz, Emily Steffen, and Becky Butler. Photos from the event are attached. 

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognized 342 schools nationwide in this, its 35thyear. Indiana’s seven recipients were “Exemplary High Performing” schools that received the highest scores on nationally normed tests.



White Lick

White Lick

The following Indiana schools achieved Blue Ribbon status:

Barr-Reeve Elementary School

Montgomery, Ind.

James Whitcomb Riley Elementary School

New Castle, Ind.

Maple Elementary School

Avon, Ind.

White Lick Elementary School

Brownsburg, Ind.

Pleasant View Elementary School

Zionsville, Ind.

College Wood Elementary School

Carmel, Ind.

Eden Elementary School

Greenfield, Ind.