May 8, 2020

Young and Braun Join Resolution to Honor Our Nation’s Teachers

Washington, D.C. — To honor our nation’s teachers and commemorate National Teacher Appreciation Week (May 4-8), U.S. Senators Todd Young (R-Ind.) and Mike Braun (R-Ind.) joined a bipartisan resolution to recognize the important work of teachers across the nation and thank them for their efforts to prepare students for success.  


“Despite the challenging situation we are currently facing, teachers in Indiana and across the country remain dedicated to their students and staying connected during the coronavirus pandemic,” said Senator Young. “This resolution honors the efforts of our teachers and their devotion to our young people.”


“Hoosier teachers have stepped up in a big way to ensure that regardless of how classes change during this time, the quality of instruction Indiana students receive remains high,” said Senator Braun.


The resolution is led by Senators Susan Collins (R-ME) and Sherrod Brown (D-OH) and additional co-authors include Senators Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Angus King (I-ME), John Boozman (R-AR), Corey Booker (D-NJ), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Chris Murphy (D-CT), John Hoeven (R-ND), Doug Jones (D-AL), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Bob Casey (D-PA), James Lankford (R-OK), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Gary Peters (D-MI), Tom Carper (D-DE), Chris Coons (D-DE), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Tina Smith (D-MN), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Jackie Rosen (D-NV), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Jack Reed (D-RI), Joe Manchin (D-WV), and Patty Murray (D-WA).


Click HERE to read the resolution.