March 15, 2023

Young, Colleagues Introduce Resolution in Support of Hong Kongers

WASHINGTON – Senators Todd Young (R-Ind.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), and Bob Menendez (D-N.J.) joined a bipartisan group of their colleagues in introducing a resolution condemning Beijing’s destruction of Hong Kong’s democracy and rule of law in addition to its political persecution of Jimmy Lai and other pro-democracy advocates.

“For years now, the Chinese Communist Party has imposed its will on the people of Hong Kong by stifling Hong Kong’s autonomy and enacting laws that silence and persecute those advocating for basic human rights and democracy,” said Senator Young. “I am proud to join this bipartisan resolution as it reaffirms America’s unwavering commitment to standing with our democratic partners and holding bad actors in Beijing and Hong Kong’s corrupt government accountable.”

“The Chinese Communist Party’s enactment of the ‘Hong Kong National Security Law’ in 2020 removed any distinction between mainland China and Hong Kong. The Hong Kong government’s practice of bringing false and politically-motivated charges against Hong Kongers like Jimmy Lai and Cardinal Zen must stop,” said Ranking Member Risch. “This resolution calls for the release of all wrongfully-accused defendants and encourages the U.S. government and democratic partners to use all tools available to hold Beijing and the Hong Kong government accountable.”

“I am proud to be joined by so many of my colleagues in affirming our unwavering support for Jimmy Lai and other democratic actors, human rights activists, journalists and other Hong Kong citizens being persecuted by the PRC’s shameful campaign to dismantle Hong Kong’s autonomy,” said Chairman Menendez. “The United States Senate is coming together in a bipartisan fashion to make clear we remain united in our efforts to stand with democratic partners in their advocacy for free speech, safety, and basic democratic and human rights. I look forward to securing this bipartisan resolution’s swift passage as we continue our efforts to enhance every aspect of U.S. policy toward China.”

In addition to Senators Young, Risch, and Menendez, Senators John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Jon Ossoff (D-Ga.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Ben Lujan (D-N.M.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Kevin Cramer (D-N.D.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Gary Peters (R-Mich.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), and Cory Booker (D-N.J.) also joined this resolution.

This resolution:

  1. Condemns the Chinese government’s “Hong Kong national security law” and related human rights abuses

  2. Supports the people of Hong Kong as they fight to exercise fundamental rights and freedoms

  3. Condemns the Chinese Communist Party’s (CCP) practice of bringing false and politically-motivated charges against Hong Kongers, as well as the state-directed theft of Apple Daily – Jimmy Lai’s media company

  4. Urges the U.S. government to use all available tools, including those authorized by the Hong Kong Human Rights and Democracy Act, in response to the CCP’s actions in Hong Kong

  5. Encourages the United States and other governments to press multilateral organizations to no longer grant Hong Kong voting rights separate from China

Full text of the resolution can be found here.