January 15, 2019

Young Joins Deputy Whip Team for 116th Congress

WASHINGTON — Senate Majority Whip Senator John Thune (R-S.D.) today announced that U.S. Senator Todd Young (R-Ind.) will continue to serve on the deputy whip team for the 116th Congress.

“I look forward to serving on the Senate Republican whip team again this Congress as we continue working to advance policies that support job growth and economic opportunity for all Americans,” said Senator Young.

Senator Mike Crapo (R-Idaho) will lead the team as chief deputy whip. Serving as deputy whips along with Senator Young are: Senators Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Cory Gardner (R-Colo.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.).

“This is a dynamic team, and I will rely on each of these men and women over the next two years. I’m thrilled to have the experience of Sen. Cornyn and those who have served as deputy whips in the past, as well as an opportunity to welcome our new members, Sen. McSally and Sen. Romney,” Senator Thune said.  “Last Congress, Senate Republicans worked together to implement reforms to help working families and increase opportunities for American workers. With the team we have put in place, I am confident we will continue to successfully deliver on the promises we made to the American people to improve their everyday lives.”