June 23, 2020

Young Joins Bipartisan Bill to Make Juneteenth Federal Holiday

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Todd Young (R-Ind.) joined Senator John Cornyn (R-Texas) and a bipartisan coalition to introduce a bill making Juneteenth a federal holiday. Currently, Juneteenth is celebrated by 47 states, including Indiana, and the District of Columbia. 

The designation of Juneteenth as a federal holiday is long overdue. The Juneteenth National Independence Day Act is an important step in recognizing how far we have come, and how far we still must go in the fight for equality,” said Senator Young

Senator Young has been an original cosponsor on resolutions honoring Juneteenth each year since 2017. This year’s resolution
passed the Senate last week.

Additional original cosponsors on the bill include Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Cory Gardner (R-Colo.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Angus King (I-Maine), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), James Risch (R-Idaho), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Bernie Sanders (D-Vt.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), and Ron Wyden (D-Ore.).